FREE Domestic Shipping for Orders of $100+

The San Diego Sneaks Summer Classic

Annual Basketball Tournament

San Diego, California

The San Diego Sneaks Summer Classic is a 5-on-5 basketball tournament that takes place in San Diego, California every summer. The tournament was established in 2018 by co-founders Tyson Youngs and Sawsun Khodapanah - two friends who wanted to restore the energy and atmosphere to the La Jolla Rec Center, and in a greater sense, the San Diego basketball scene. Not only does the tournament bring out great basketball talent from San Diego and beyond, but it serves as a fun event and summertime tradition for people of all walks of life to enjoy. With great food, entertainment, and local talent on display to go with high level hoops, the tournament has become a growing tradition in the San Diego basketball community.

The 3rd Annual Summer Classic...


Year 1: 2018

The inaugural tournament featured 12 teams, gourmet tacos from Coal Bros, and live DJ'ing from DJ Yours Truly. After a long, hard-fought day, Team "Crushin' Dreams" came out on top, winning the first ever San Diego Sneaks Summer Classic Championship.

Team "Crushin' Dreams" pictured with tournament co-founders and their engraved prize basketballs. (From left to right: Tyson Youngs, James Poet, Travis Puckett, Kevin Gelfand, Connor Long, Mike Stein, Eric Grabin, Will Jasonn, Sawsun Khodapanah). 2018.

Year 2: 2019

In its second year, the tournament grew from 12 to 16 teams. The day featured higher competition as well as more vendors and entertainment - Coal Bros tacos returned, accompanied by Party Pop popcorn, SD Snow shaved ice truck, and art from Jack Ready fine art. The "5 O'Clock Cowboys" won the championship game against "It's About Buccets" in a thrilling game, ending with the tournament-winning-shot from near half-court by A.J. Preller.

Team "5 O'Clock Cowboys" pictured with tournament co-founders and their engraved prize basketballs. (From left to right. Standing: Sawsun Khodapanah, Kyle xx, Preston Mattingly, Jeff Randazzo, Joe Taormino, Luke Murton, A.J. Preller, Tyson Youngs; Kneeling: Louis Amoroso, Andre xx, Jason Amoroso). 2019.


Tournament Videos

Sign up to receive tournament updates!

More tournament information

For information on how to participate in the tournament, sponsorship, vendors, and general inquiries, please email